Adult Use Cannabis FAQ's
Is the recreational sale of cannabis permitted in the Village of Lisle?
No, the Village Board passed an ordinance on October 7, 2019 that prohibits cannabis-based businesses from operating within the Village of Lisle.
When will the new Illinois Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act (CRTA) law go into effect?
The new Illinois cannabis law will go into effect on January 1, 2020.
Who will be allowed to smoke cannabis recreationally in Illinois under the new law?
If you are 21 years old or older, you will be allowed to purchase marijuana from licensed sellers and smoke it in Illinois.
How much recreational cannabis can I possess in Illinois under the new law?
Beginning on January 1, 2020, if you are 21 years or older and an Illinois resident it will be legal for you to possess 30 grams of cannabis (flower), 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, or cannabis –infused products containing up to 500 milligrams of THC. Non-Illinois residents will be permitted to have half these amounts.
Where can I purchase recreational cannabis in Illinois under the new law?
For approximately the first half of 2020, only medical marijuana dispensaries will be permitted to sell recreational cannabis. After that time period, Illinois will begin granting licenses to other sellers.
Where will I be allowed to consume cannabis in Illinois under the new law?
It will be legal to smoke cannabis in your residence and in businesses that permit marijuana smoking.
Where is consumption prohibited?
Even though cannabis will be legal in Illinois, you will still not be permitted to smoke recreationally in public places, in motor vehicles, on school grounds, or in proximity to anyone under the age of 21. For the purpose of this act, a Public place means any place where a person could reasonably be expected to be observed by others.
Who will be allowed to possess cannabis in Illinois in a vehicle under the new law?
Consumption of cannabis in a vehicle on a public street will be prohibited. Cannabis transported in a vehicle must be in a sealed, odor proof, and child-resistant cannabis container and reasonably inaccessible.
Who will be allowed to grow cannabis in Illinois under the new law?
Registered or licensed Medical marijuana patients will be permitted to grow up to five marijuana plants at a time. Other residents must apply for a state license as a craft grower in order to grow marijuana, and growing is only allowed in a locked, secure area.
What is the legal limit of THC blood concentration for a DUI in Illinois?
The legal limit for driving is a THC blood concentration of more than five nanograms per milliliter. If you have more than that in your system, or are impaired, you may be charged with a DUI.
Can I remove prior cannabis possession convictions from my criminal record now that cannabis is legal in Illinois?
If you were convicted of possessing under 30 grams of Marijuana prior to January 1, 2020, your record will likely be automatically expunged as long as the convictions were not part of a violent crime. You can petition for expungement of convictions for possession of between 30 and 500 grams of marijuana.
Can an employer restrict the use of cannabis?
The Act permits an employer to utilize a Zero Tolerance Policy, meaning no cannabis consumption. It is recommended that individuals check with their employer and the personnel manual.
Can a landlord or business owner restrict cannabis use?
Any person, business, public entity, or landlord may prohibit the use of cannabis on private property.
Where can I get additional information regarding the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act?
Illinois Department of Finance and Professional Regulation
What are the penalties for violating cannabis restrictions?
Those violating the restrictions of the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act are subject to the penalties under the cannabis control act and/or relevant Lisle Village ordinances.